Cabaero is 2013 Burton Nieman Fellow

by | Jun 28, 2013 | Alumni

Sun.Star Network Exchange editor-in-chief Ma. Lourdes ‘Nini’ Cabaero, MA Journalism graduate and faculty member, is this year’s recipient of the Sandra Burton-Nieman Fellowship.


Cabaero, together with the 23 other members of the 76th batch of Nieman Fellows from around the world, will spend one school year at Harvard University, Massachusetts to do scholastic journalism work. She will be studying about changing newsrooms and the ways new media can enable small communities to have equal access to national resources.


The Sandra Burton-Nieman Fellowship for Filipino journalists is sponsored by the Ninoy and Cory Aquino Foundation (NCAF) while its selection process is being administered by the Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility. It serves as a tribute to the late Sandra Burton, a Time Asia correspondent, who had an extensive coverage of the assassination of the late Sen. Benigno Aquino, Jr. and the People Power Revolution in the Philippines in the mid-1980s.


The Cebu-based new media editor was recognized during the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar held at SGV Hall, Asian Institute of Management on Thursday. She received her award from Rafael C. Lopa, NCAF president and executive director.


Cabaero was one of the fellows in the first batch of MA Journalism students. She has also previously taught online journalism, one of the electives in the MA program.


Aside from Cabaero, Philippine Center for Investigative Journalism’s executive director Malou Mangahas also received her recognition as the 2013 Marshall McLuhan Fellow during the journalism seminar. She was chosen among the seven nominees also called Jaime V. Ongpin Fellows, who served as panelists during the seminar about the coverage of the media on the 2013 midterm campaign and elections.

newspaper templates - theme rewards