Ateneo holds 40th University Service Awards

by | Mar 5, 2018 | Ateneo Community, Featured, Loyola Schools, News

by: Nathanielle Punay


Three hundred sixty-four employees of the Ateneo de Manila University were recognized for years of service at the 40th University Service Awards held at the High School Covered Courts on February 22.

Employees who have been working in the Ateneo for 25 years and more received monetary awards and service plaques.  Those who have been with the Ateneo for 10 years and more got service plaques, while the five-year employees were given service pins.

Among the awardees is scientist and mathematician Fr. Bienvenido Nebres, who was recognized for 45 years of service to the University. He was the Ateneo de Manila’s longest serving university president.

Modesto Chua of Department of Chemistry and Thelma Padero of the Office of the Vice President for Administration were also honored for serving the university for 50 years.

Dr. Benjamin Tolosa, a 25-year service awardee from the Department of Political Science, spoke on behalf of the awardees.

“Many of us acknowledge that we are truly grateful to the Ateneo for the gift of meaningful employment, for the gift of education for our children, for the gift of healthcare and even counsel for our families,” Tolosa said.

“But more than these materials and professional benefits, what has made us stay is the gift that we are part of a caring and nurturing community,” he added.

Ateneo president Fr. Jett Villarin thanked all employees for becoming a part of the students’ achievements. “The Ateneo is not what it has earned but what it received from the goodness of people. I thank you for the gift of your life and services here in this institution.”

The University Service Awards is an annual event that aims to acknowledge the efforts of the employees who have served the university for 5 to 50 years.


[slideshow_deploy id=’7749′]

Nathanielle Punay is a journalism senior student of Polytechnic University of the Philippines and an intern of Asian Center for Journalism at the Ateneo de Manila University

newspaper templates - theme rewards