Arguillas wins 2011 Marshall McLuhan Award

by | Jul 29, 2011 | Alumni

Mindanews editor-in-chief Carolyn Arguillas, a graduate of the MA Journalism program being administered by ACFJ under the Ateneo Department of Communication, is this year’s recipient of the Canadian Embassy’s prestigious Marshall McLuhan Fellowship Award for her excellence in journalism.

Arguillas was named the Marshall McLuhan Fellow for 2011 for her collective body of work both as a reporter and editor. The Canadian Embassy said Arguillas won this year’s award for  her initiatives “at the forefront of reporting Mindanao issues and how these stories are significant in the national agenda.”

The Davao-based editor received the award during the Jaime V. Ongpin Journalism Seminar  the Center for Media Freedom and Responsibility organized in Makati City on Thursday. She received her award Canada’s Ambassador to the Philippines Christopher Thornley.

An ACFJ fellow, Arguillas completed the two-year master’s program in 2007.

The Marshall McLuhan Prize, named after the world-renowned Canadian communication scholar, is the Canadian Embassy’s flagship public diplomacy initiative. As her prize, Arguillas will have the opportunity to undertake a study tour to Canada and to sit as a fellow at the McLuhan Institute in Toronto.

Launched in 1997, the prize aims to encourage investigative journalism in the Philippines, underlining Canada’s belief that “a strong media is essential to a free democratic society.”

newspaper templates - theme rewards