Alumni association elects new officers

by | Oct 2, 2013 | News

The Society of Asian Journalists (SAJ) chose its new set of officers during the organization’s general assembly held in Penang, Malaysia, September 26.


Independent producer and Creative Media House founder Mon Mon Myat leads the group as the president. Myat hails from Myanmar and was among the third batch of students in ACFJ’s MA Journalism program. She takes the place of Kim Ying Pung, owner of A PEN media consultancy, Malaysia.


The other elected officers are: Vasana Wickramasena, Sri Lanka, vice president; Avigail Olarte, Philippines, secretary; Bruce Avasadanond, Thailand, treasurer; and Susan Tam, Malaysia, chief information officer. All of them received their MA Journalism degrees from the Ateneo de Manila University too.


The society’s meeting and election coincided with the 8th Forum of Emerging Leaders, an annual gathering of young Asian journalists many of whom are ACFJ fellowship grantees. This year’s discussion theme focused on data journalism.

newspaper templates - theme rewards