11 Asian journalists named ACFJ fellows for 2010

by | Jun 1, 2010 | News

Eleven journalists from five Asian countries are the recipients of ACFJ fellowship grants to pursue the Master of Arts in Journalism at the Ateneo de Manila University starting school year 2010.


The fellowship covers tuition and miscellaneous fees, round trip international travel costs, accommodation costs and living and book allowances for the two-year online and on-campus graduate program.


The fellows are:

  • Fisher Chenkang Yu (Mr)
    Multimedia Reporter
    China Daily Website


  • Hendrawan Setiawan (Mr)
    Rajawali Citra TV


  • Joeberth Michael Marti M. Ocao (Mr)
    Copy Editor
    The Freeman
    Cebu City, Philippines


  • Ha Thuy Nguyen (Ms)
    Vietnam News


  • Trufi Murdiani (Ms)
    Randar Kanoybg Daily


  • Abigail C. Kwok (Ms)
    Multimedia reporter/Editorial Staff
    Inquirer, Manila


  • Amyline Q. Ching (Ms)
    Section Editor
    Fun Page
    Manila Bulletin


  • Nor Baizura Basri (Ms)
    Malaysian National News
    Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia


  • Simrit Kaur Amar Singh (Ms)
    Assistant Editor
    Star Publications


  • Gabriel L. Cardinoza (Mr)
    Station Manager
    Aksyon Radyo Pangasinan/Correspondent, Inquirer
    Pangasinan, Philippines



Fellows were selected by a committee headed by Violet B. Valdez, PhD, ACFJ executive director and Department of Communication associate professor, with faculty and practicing journalists as members.


The ACFJ fellowship aims to support journalists in their pursuit of professional enrichment and advancement and in their commitment to a free, viable and responsible press.


A total of 56 journalists and media professionals from the Philippines, Malaysia, India, Indonesia, China, Cambodia, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Vietnam have obtained the degree since 2003.

newspaper templates - theme rewards